Apple expands Carplay to 5 new countries

Apple on Thursday announced that it has expanded CarPlay availability to 5 new countries, including Russia, New Zealand, Denmark, Sweden and the Netherlands. This brings the total amount of CarPlay countries to 25.

Folks in these countries now have the ability to use Apple’s hands-free display-streaming feature with compatible vehicle models and head units, as long as they have an iPhone 5 or newer, running iOS 7.1 or later firmware.

Launched in the Spring of last year, CarPlay allows you to access Siri and supported iOS apps from your car’s built-in display. Several car manufacturers have pledged to support the feature, but few cars have made it to market.

Despite its slow adoption, however, Apple has been very aggressive with its international rollout in recent weeks. Earlier this month it expanded CarPlay to several countries including Brazil, China, India, Thailand, and Turkey.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post